Hill Park Victoria. Beacon Hill Park was named for the two beacons
on Mount Beacon. The western most beacon had a triangle (blue) and
the other a square (green). If the sailor could see the square through
the triangle he was on Brotchie Ledge- which meant trouble.
Hill Park was a disputed piece of land. When the Hudson’s
Bay Company charter to the Island was rescinded in 1859 the Company claimed
3 084 acres of land in the Victoria area, including Beacon Hill Park.
In 1862 the Privy Council in London decided "That there shall be
forthwith conveyed and surrendered by the said Company to Her Majesty,
her heirs and successors and assigns, reserves for the public park."
Over the decade there ensued a number of disputes over whether the
municipality or the legislative Council was responsible for Beacon
Hill Park. The City of Victoria was incorporated in 1862. The boundaries
of Victoria, however, excluded Beacon Hill Park until 1867. This can
been seen in the Official Map of the Town of Victoria in 1861.
there was a dispute between the Municipal Corporation and the Legislative
regarding the ownership of the property. The
British Colonist reported that a meeting was held for the "preservation
of Beacon Hill Park as city property, and to protest against the invasion
of Municipal rights by the Legislative Council."3 According to
the same article the Mayor believed Beacon Hill Park had been city
property since 1858. One member of the Legislative Council contested
city administration of the park saying "Nothing could be clearer
that the incompetency of the Municipal Council as might be seen from
the condition of the streets."
the whole article here
Beacon Hill Park was withdrawn from City limits and fell under the
of the Colony's Department of Lands and Works. With
remarkable similarity Hazel Conway remarks that in England "local
authorities were severely inhibited by the legislation governing the
actions they could undertake, and the ‘struggle’ to acquire
municipal parks required much ingenuity."
Hill Park was turned over to the City of Victoria in 1882 and it
remains in trust today.
Beacon Hill Farm Society, formed in 2004, and the Koenders family
who have operated the Beacon Hill
Childrens farm since 1985, are
pleased to continue bringing the joy of a farm experience to young
and old. The farm provides both an educational and economical form
of entertainment for the whole family. Our goal is to help children
develop a respect for animals that will remain with them for life.
The hands-on experience with the goats in the petting area is the
most popular feature of the farm. A hand wash station is located
onsite for visitors' convience and we encourage everyone to wash
their hands after visiting any animal. Enjoy your visit!
Each year the Park is host to many festivals one of the brightest used to be the Luminara Festival. which will be held on the 18th to the 25th of September 2010 at the Fisgard Light House near Birds of a Feather Bed and Breakfast